This site has been archived on 03/11/2014

Navigation path

News items for May 2010


Vienna: Plácido Domingo and Androulla Vassiliou present EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards


The winners of the 2014 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards will be honoured this evening during a ceremony in Vienna.



EU-backed films honoured at Cannes


Three films supported by the EU's Creative Europe MEDIA programme received awards at the closing ceremony of the Cannes Film Festival. The jury, chaired by Jane Campion, awarded the Grand Prix in the main competition to Italian director Alice Rohrwachter for The Wonders (Les Merveilles). Jean-Luc Godard's Adieu Au Langage (Goodbye to Language) received the Jury Prize and Timothy Spall received the award for Best Actor for his performance in Mike Leigh's Mr Turner. In the 'Un Certain Regard' section, the Jury Prize went to the Swedish film Turist by Ruben Ostlund.


Bosnian film director Tanović to receive EU 'Prix MEDIA' at Cannes


The Oscar-winning Bosnian director Danis Tanović is the winner of the 2014 European Union 'Prix MEDIA', awarded to the best new film project eligible for support from the Creative Europe MEDIA programme . Tanović will receive the award from Androulla Vassiliou, the European Commissioner responsible for culture, during a ceremony at the Cannes Film Festival in France on Saturday 17 May (11am, Café des Palmes, Palais des Festivals).



Facebook chat: Erasmus+ open to the world


Did you know that, in addition to offering 4 million grants over the next seven years for exchanges within the EU and associated countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey), Erasmus+ will also fund 135 000 scholarships for short-term study or teaching opportunities involving countries worldwide?


Last update: 24/11/2014 |  Top