Important legal notices
Contact | Search EUROPA  



  vertical line  

Forestry measures

Advisory Group on Forestry and Cork

The Advisory Group on Forestry and Cork was established in May 2004 by the Commission Decision 2004/391/EC. It replaced the Advisory Committee on Forestry and Cork. The main objective for establishing advisory groups dealing with matters covered by the common agricultural policy (CAP) is to seek the views of socio-economic sectors and consumers and all those affected by agricultural policy decisions on matters arising in connection with the operation of the various common organisations of the market and other areas covered by the CAP and by rural development policy.

The Advisory Group includes representatives of forest owner organisations (public and private), forest-based industries, environmental NGOs, forest trade unions, traders and consumer groups.

The group has 49 members. The seats among interests represented are distributed as follows:

  • producers - 28
  • traders - 2
  • industry - 11
  • workers - 3
  • consumers - 1
  • environmentalists - 4


The seat allocation among the producers is as follows: USSE (Union of Foresters of Southern Europe) 2 seats, ELO (European Landowners' Organization) 2 seats, COPA-COGECA (COPA - Committee of Professional Agricultural Organisations in the European Union and COGECA - General Confederation of Agricultural Co-operatives in the European Union) 8 seats, CEPF (Confédération Européenne des Producteurs Forestiers) 9 seats, CPE (European Farmer Co-ordination) 1 seat and 4 representatives of the Public Forest Sector and Forest Research. There is one expert representing FECOF (European Federation of Municipal and Local Community Forests) and one representing CFN Nurseries.


The two experts representing trade are from CELCAA (Comité Européen de Liaison des Commerces Agro-Alimentaires) and EUROCOMMERCE.


The eleven experts representing industry are nominated by CEI-Bois (Confédération européenne des industries du bois), CEPI (Confederation of European Paper Industries), C.E.Liège (Confédération Européenne Du Liège).


The two experts representing workers come from EFFAT (European Federation of Trade Unions in the Food, Agriculture and Tourism sectors and allied branches) and one from UEF (Union of European Foresters).


The expert representing consumers comes from BEUC (Bureau Européen des Unions de Consommateurs).


The four experts representing Environmentalists are from EEB (European Environmental Bureau), WWF-EPO (WWF European Policy Office), Birdlife, Forum for Pastoralism and Nature Conservation.



  vertical line  

Advisory Group on Forestry and Cork

Agriculture and Rural Development | Top

Last update: 06-01-2010