Navigation path

Additional tools

Developing countries

Relations with African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries

This page provides access to information about the partnership agreements (EPAs) between the EU and ACP countries to consolidate the EU's trade and development policy, creating a climate for investment and growth in the ACP regions

The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States is made up of 79 countries – 48 from Sub Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific.

A special preferential trade scheme was set up from 23 June 2000 under the Cotonou Agreement – a partnership agreement between the EU and ACP countries and the world's largest and oldest financial and political framework for North-South cooperation.

This agreement was also to be the origin of a new WTO compatible framework from 2008, as the EU and ACP countries began to set up Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs) to create duty-free and quota-free market access for all ACP products.


Further information about the ACP group and the seven geographical ACP regions, including EPAs:




Help us improve this website

Did you find what you want?


What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?