Navigation path

Additional tools


Who can participate in the Communication Awards?

Any of the following organisations can take part:

  1. National ministries;
  2. Non-governmental organisations (NGOs);
  3. Organisations representing local, regional and municipal authorities;
  4. Other public or mixed authorities;
  5. Professional organisations (including farmers’, agricultural or rural development associations);
  6. Think tanks, research or academic institutions;
  7. Media; and
  8. Communication agencies / communication professionals.

What kind of projects can be submitted?

Any ongoing or completed project, which clearly communicates themes related to the Common Agricultural Policy, and for which the implementation phase started no earlier than 1 January 2011.


Application procedure

  1. Projects must be submitted before 12:00 CET (midday) on Friday 31 October 2014.
  2. Applications should be submitted in English, French or German. No other languages will be accepted.
  3. An awards helpdesk will be available to assist applicants. Phone number: +32 2 333 59 54 E-mail address:  The helpdesk will operate on working days from 9:00-13:00 and from 14:00-17:30 CET. Enquiries will be dealt with within three working days of receipt. Prior to submission, all helpdesk enquiries should be sent before Friday 31 October 2014, 09:00 CET.
  4. Only fully completed project application forms will be accepted. Additional material will not be accepted after the closing date (Friday 31 October 2014, 12:00 CET).
  5. Each project can only be entered once. Applicants may submit up to a maximum of three different projects, in the same or in various categories.

Selection process

  1. Applications which meet the eligibility criteria will be taken forward for evaluation by an independent preselection committee made up of three communication experts. During this first stage of the evaluation process, a first preselection of a maximum of 15 projects per category will be established.
  2. These preselected projects will be evaluated by a high level jury made up of communication specialists and of experts in agricultural and rural development policy. The jury will select three finalist projects for each of the Awards categories. The jury reserves the right, if deemed appropriate, to reallocate an applicant’s project to another category other than the category the applicant originally applied for.
  3. The Jury will have the opportunity to award one project with a Special Jury Prize.
  4. The decision on the final ranking (first, second, third) for each award category will be taken by an invited audience of communication specialists who will vote during the Awards ceremony. Finalists will be invited to present their project in this event before the audience makes their vote.
  5. A special recognition prize, the Special General Public Prize, will allow the Awards' website visitors to identify their preferred option among the nine finalist projects.


All applicants will receive a notification of whether their submitted projects are eligible.

  1. Preselected projects will be informed and invited to join the database of best practices by the end of November. Unsuccessful applicants will also be notified by email around the same time.
  2. Finalists selected by the jury will receive an invitation to attend the Awards ceremony and networking event ((taking place in Brussels on 29 January 2015) in order to present their project. The invitation, together with advice concerning the presentations finalists will be expected to make, during the Awards ceremony and networking event, will be sent by mid-December.

Evaluation criteria

Evaluation will take into account the following:

Objectives and communication strategy

Quality of strategy and objectives, project design, project deliverables, project programme and methods used to deliver the strategy.

Target audience

Relevance of project to the selected target audience, pre-assessment of the target audience's information needs, quality and variety of methods used to reach the selected target audience and active involvement of the target audience in the project.


Conceptual approach and design of the project, visual aspects, innovative and creative mix of communication tools, actions and channels.


The extent to which the objectives were met, the extent to which the impact on the target audience was achieved, the number of people reached, the number and the quality of communication channels used, the cost-effectiveness of the project.

Relevance to the Common Agricultural Policy

Clarity, relevance and appropriateness of direct or indirect links to the policy areas of the CAP.


The project offers a best-practice case-study in terms of: quality of project, outreach, impact, and multiplier effect; visibility of project, dissemination and exploitation of results; replication potential in other countries.

For the category ‘Innovative communication’, particular emphasis will be placed on creative/innovative aspects of the submitted project.

You can submit one project per category or up to three different projects in the same or in various categories.

The jury reserves the right, if deemed appropriate, to reallocate an applicant’s project to another category other than the category the applicant originally applied for.