Navigation path

 

The Flash Eurobarometer, “Public opinion in the EU regions”, is the third of a series of surveys conducted at the request of the Directorate-General for Communication with the aim of exploring public opinion at regional level by measuring perceptions of Europeans concerning the economy, the quality of life and the main issues being faced by the region where they currently live, their expectations for the region in the next twelve months and who, among political representatives, they think can best explain the regional impact of European policies. The questionnaire also includes questions aiming at measuring the optimism of Europeans concerning the future of their region, and the level of trust in the national government and in the EU at regional level. The first results of this survey were published in November 2018 and the full report is published today.

 

This survey was designed to explore European citizens’ awareness of and views on biodiversity and nature. Earlier surveys on the same topic were made in 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2015. The current survey (carried out in December 2018) addresses a sub-set of the questions asked in the previous ones and explores more particularly citizens views and opinions on the following topics: - Awareness of the term “biodiversity” - Perceptions of the biggest threats to biodiversity - Reasons for stopping the loss of biodiversity - What the EU should do to prevent the loss of biodiversity - Awareness about the Natura 2000 network, of the importance of nature protection areas and of attitudes to developments that may damage these areas

 

Through this survey more than 10.000 young people across the EU (between 15 and 30 years) expressed their views on what the EU priorities should be as well as where education and training should focus in the years to come. Additionally, the survey provides an overview on young people’s trends regarding their social and civic participation. Finally, it illustrates the situation regarding youth mobility and helps to identify the main reasons that possibly impede young people from taking part in a learning experience abroad.

 

Vaccination is one of the most successful public health measures to date. Not only do vaccines prevent diseases and save lives, they also reduce healthcare costs. The European Commission has conducted a Special Eurobarometer presenting Europeans’ attitudes towards vaccination. While the results are positive in finding that 85% of EU citizens believe vaccination is an effective way to prevent infectious diseases, and 79% consult and trust a healthcare professional to get information about vaccinations, there are also some worrying findings: 48% Europeans believe – incorrectly – that vaccines can often produce severe side effects, and 38% think vaccines can cause the diseases against which they protect. More key figures can be found in the full Eurobarometer report.

 

The Flash Eurobarometer 476 survey on citizens’ perceptions about competition policy was carried out by Kantar Public Brussels in 28 Member States of the European Union between 21-25 January 2019. Some 26,572 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone (landline and mobile phone) in their mother tongue. The survey focused on citizens’ perceptions and awareness on the impact of competition, lack of competition, and applicable information channels. EU citizens largely share the objectives and values of competition policy, with little variation across socio-demographic factors. 78% respondents say effective competition has had a positive impact on them as consumers (+4 percentage points since 2014). European citizens assimilate competition to higher quality goods and services (74%), better prices (83%), more innovation (85%), and more choice for consumers (87%). Across the EU, citizens think that problems arising from lack of competition are most likely regarding: telecommunications (26%; +8 percentage points since 2014), Internet access (26%), energy (23%; -5 percentage points since 2014), transport services, and pharmaceutical products (both 20%). Among respondents who have experienced problems resulting from a lack of competition, 70% say the main problem is that prices are too high (across all sectors). 40% of respondents had heard about competition cases in the last twelve months (+1percentage point since 2014). Newspapers/magazines and television are the most mentioned sources (both 58%), followed by radio and websites (both 33%), and online social networks (24%; +10 percentage points since 2014).

 

The Special Eurobarometer Survey 480 (EBS480) was carried out between 24th October and 7th November 2018 to collect the Europeans’ attitudes towards Internet security. 27,339 face-to-face interviews in all Member States were conducted with Europeans older than 15 years. Respondents provided information on how often and by which means they access the Internet, and what they do when they are online. They were asked on their concerns about their actions on the Internet, and which measures they undertake to lower the risk of falling victim to cyber crime. Europeans could express their feelings of how well informed they were about these risks, which actions they considered to be criminal, and whether they or people close to them had already been victims. Finally, the survey gathered information on which actions Europeans undertook if they became victims and which ways to report cyber crime they know of.

 

This new Eurobarometer survey sheds light on the priority areas for EU citizens when it comes to the activities of customs authorities in the EU. According to the survey, customs should primarily focus on security threat protection and fighting against smuggling and fraud, while EU citizens also expect customs to enforce rules on animals, plants and public health or on product safety. The new results show that citizens know more about specific aspects of the Customs Union than three years ago, although some misconceptions remain.

 

A Eurobarometer survey was carried out face-to-face from 4 to 20 December 2018 in the 28 EU Member States on the Perceptions of antisemitism. In this survey, 27,643 respondents were asked about their perception of antisemitism as a problem, its evolution over the last five years and the specific manifestations of antisemitism. Additional questions were asked about the influence of conflicts in the Middle East on antisemitism in Europe, the effectiveness of Holocaust education and the knowledge about Jewish communities.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 90 survey (EB90), was carried out between 8 and 22 November 2018 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement and the euro.

 

The first EB survey on EU consumer habits regarding fishery and aquaculture products was conducted in 2016. As EU Member States, operators and the European Commission services made an extensive use of its findings, it was decided to repeat the opinion poll every second year. This year’s survey, the Special Eurobarometer 475, confirms that EU consumers eat fishery and aquaculture products regularly, preferably at home, although with lower frequency in landlocked countries. Purchase is regular and mainly takes place in supermarkets. Preferences have also remained stable: many Europeans prefer wild products. Yet, it is interesting to note that a large proportion of Europeans do not have specific preferences. To learn more about this survey you can access the full report available on this website.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 24 October and 7 November 2018 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe" report considers the EU in today's world: EU’s main assets and challenges, the EU's values and the EU in the world economy. Then it tackles some aspects of political and social life in the EU and issues related to the future of Europe. The present survey also includes questions on climate change as well as questions on the future of Europe directly inspired by European citizens, who were gathered in a citizens’ consultation in May 2018. A first series of results from this survey on climate change was published on 28 November 2018.

 

The Special Eurobarometer survey was commissioned by the Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs to assess the awareness, attitudes and opinions of Europeans regarding the Schengen Area. The free movement of persons is a fundamental right guaranteed by the EU to its citizens. It entitles every EU citizen to travel, work and live in any EU country without special formalities. The creation of the Schengen Area embodies concretely this freedom by enabling all persons to cross internal borders (meaning borders between countries of the Schengen Area) without being subjected to border checks. The Schengen Area guarantees unrestricted travel within a territory of 26 countries, home to more than 400 million citizens. The survey explores the awareness of the Schengen Area, frequency of travel within the EU, within and outside the Schengen Area, reasons for travel and transport methods, perceptions of ease of travel inside and outside the Schengen Area, attitudes towards the Schengen Area and its main perceived positive aspects, awareness and experience of temporary reintroduced internal border controls, awareness of EU initiatives to secure its external borders, as well as support for more EU involvement in securing external borders, and support for more funding to secure these borders.

 

This survey was commissioned by the Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers to explore citizens’ opinions and concerns about voting and elections, as well as their satisfaction with various aspects of democracy in the EU. Some first results of the survey regarding the concerns of EU citizens about the use of the Internet and online social networks during election periods were published on 6th November 2018. The full results of this survey are published today (26 November 2018).

 

The European Commission has conducted a Flash Eurobarometer survey among EU companies to gain insights into whether and why European companies still withhold their investments. The most relevant barriers to investment appear to be labour costs, poor or uncertain economic outlook, complexity of tax legislation, administrative burdens, stability of tax legislation and skills shortage. However, firms' perceptions on investment barriers differ significantly among Member States. Firms in the UK, Denmark, Finland, Estonia, the Netherlands and Sweden perceive to face relatively low barriers to investments, whereas the perception of high impediments to investment is prevalent in particular in Greece, Portugal, Romania, Italy, France and Spain.

 

For this survey carried out on 15- 16 October 2018, some 17 500 respondents across the 19 euro area countries were interviewed by phone. Compared with last year, the results confirm the strong support for the euro. A euro area majority of 64% thinks that having the euro is a good thing for their country. This is for the second consecutive year the highest proportion since the start of the survey in 2002. It is the view of the majority of respondents in all 19 euro area countries. There are nevertheless some important differences between the 19 countries. The highest increase in support compared with the 2017 results was noted in Austria and Italy, each with a raise of 12 percentage points to 76% and 57% respectively, followed by Latvia with a raise of 10 points to 63%. Highest support for the euro remains to be in Ireland at 85%. On the other hand, strongest decrease was noted in Germany by 6 percentage points to now 70%. An equally stable euro area majority of 74% sees the euro as good for the EU as a whole, the same level of support as expressed in 2017. Asked about economic policy coordination in the euro area, an overall majority of 69% thinks there should be more coordination while 7% think there should be less of it. An unchanged overall majority of 64% supports abolishing 1-cent and 2-cent coins combined with mandatory rounding of the final sum of purchases. However, a relative majority in Greece (48%) is against this proposal, while in 16 euro area Member States an absolute majority supports this idea. Citizens replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from perception and practical aspects of the euro to their assessment of the economic situation, policy and reforms in their country and in the euro area. In addition, citizens were asked about their views and expectations regarding household income and inflation.

 

Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is the ability of microorganisms to resist antimicrobial treatments, especially antibiotics. This has a direct impact on human as well as animal health and carries a heavy economic burden due to higher costs of treatments and reduced productivity caused by sickness. The European Commission has conducted a Special Eurobarometer presenting EU citizens' awareness on antibiotics and how these are used by the citizens and in agriculture. While the results show a decrease of the use over the last 10 years, one-fifth of the population still takes antibiotics for the wrong purpose. 85% of Europeans are aware that unnecessary use makes them become ineffective. More key figures can be found in the full Eurobarometer report.

 

The Flash Eurobarometer, “Public opinion in the EU regions”, is the third of a series of surveys conducted at the request of the Directorate-General for Communication with the aim of exploring public opinion at regional level by measuring perceptions of Europeans concerning the economy, the quality of life and the main issues being faced by the region where they currently live, their expectations for the region in the next twelve months and who, among political representatives, they think can best explain the regional impact of European policies. The questionnaire also includes questions aiming at measuring the optimism of Europeans concerning the future of their region, and the level of trust in the national government and in the EU at regional level. The first results of this survey are published today.

 

A Eurobarometer survey was carried out by phone in the 28 Member States on the issue of work-life balance. In this survey, 26,578 respondents were asked about the availability of family leaves and flexible workplace arrangements in their workplace, attitudes towards the use of these family friendly working arrangements by male and female workers, their employers and co-workers, as well as modalities which would encourage worker to avail of them.

 

Further to our commitment in the June 2016 Communication on the collaborative economy, we have carried out a second Flash Eurobarometer to identify citizens' perceptions, attitudes and practices in relation to the collaborative economy. The survey provides an overview of the citizens' awareness and frequency of use of collaborative platforms (both as users and services providers), as well their assessment of the advantages and disadvantages of using such platforms. Moreover, the survey also explores the reasons for which some citizens do not use collaborative platforms, and includes an analysis of the impact of collaborative platforms on the users' behaviour with respect to purchasing services via traditional channels.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 2018 survey on EU citizens' views on development, cooperation and aid. The survey is based on fieldwork in the 28 EU Member States performed in June-July 2018. The vast majority of EU citizens (89 %) think that it is "important to help people in developing countries", which is the same level as in 2016. The survey includes topics such as tackling poverty in developing countries as a moral obligation, the impact on EU citizens, the importance of personal commitment to development aid, what EU citizens perceive as the biggest challenges for development countries and includes two new entries: the impact of development policy on gender equality and the role of private companies in the sustainable development of developing countries. The survey offers a view on how citizens perceive development and cooperation in every EU country as well as across the EU as a whole. Commissioner Mimica will announce the results today on the occasion of the UNGA week in New York. A media package, including country fact sheets and infographics in 23 EU languages, is available.

 

This Flash Eurobarometer survey was commissioned by the Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport to investigate public satisfaction regarding a range of aspects of rail transport. The survey covers the following areas: - Satisfaction with rail services including buying tickets and train stations; - The importance of rail services, including getting information and handling complaints; - Satisfaction with the availability and reliability of trains and seats; - Satisfaction with the services on trains and their maintenance; - Satisfaction with various aspects of accessibility including the accessibility of stations and carriages, and assistance for persons with a disability or mobility issue; - The reasons for not travelling by train.

 

The European Commission has taken a series of targeted and horizontal measures to curb the spread of illegal content online, including hate speech, child sexual abuse material, incitement to terrorism, consumer scams and content that infringes intellectual property rights. The Flash Eurobarometer 469 was requested by DG CONNECT and was part of a broader consultation and engagement strategy in support of the Impact Assessment on further measures to tackle illegal content online. To explore Europeans’ experience of illegal content online, and their opinions about the role and responsibility of online platforms, this survey explores the following areas: - The use of various types of online hosting services; - Views about the safety of the Internet and addressing illegal content online; - The types of illegal content encountered online, the actions taken as a result, and satisfaction with the hosting service’s response; - Respondents’ experiences of having legal content wrongfully blocked, the reasons given for this and the actions taken as a result; - Opinions about the actions Internet hosting services should take to address illegal content online, including content removal and the right of appeal.

 

Thanks to the EU roaming rules, in place since 15 June 2017, consumers can use their mobile phone while travelling abroad in the EU as they would do at home, without paying extra charges. This Flash Eurobarometer survey measures the awareness of roaming rules and the changes of users' patterns of roaming services when traveling in the EU.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 89 survey (EB89), was carried out between 17 and 28 March 2018 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey covers topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the policies of the European Commission, for example free movement, the euro and the EU's common trade policy.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among companies across the EU Member States, particularly: - how companies rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. A total of 6,803 companies were interviewed via telephone (among businesses employing one or more persons) between 15 and 24 January 2018, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among the general public across the EU Member States, particularly: - how the general public rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. Some 26,537 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone, between 15 and 16 January 2018, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

For this survey carried out in April 2018, some 7 000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important. While 55% of respondents think that the introduction of the euro has had positive consequences in the countries that are already using the euro, the proportion of respondents who are in favour of introducing the euro in their country varies widely, from 69% in Romania to 33% in the Czech Republic. Respondents who feel informed about the euro are more likely to support its introduction (56% compared with 46% of those who do not feel informed). Socio-demographic analysis shows that men are more in favour of introducing the euro in their country, compared with women (57% vs 45%).