Navigation path

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among companies across the EU Member States, particularly: - how companies rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. A total of 6,803 companies were interviewed via telephone (among businesses employing one or more persons) between 25 January and 3 February 2017, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among the general public across the EU Member States, particularly: - how the general public rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. Some 26,565 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone, between 25 and 26 January 2017, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

This report presents the results of a Flash Eurobarometer survey into attitudes of Romanian and Bulgarian citizens towards the state of the judicial system and corruption in their country. It also shows the perception of EU support in this area through the Cooperation and Verification Mechanism. In Bulgaria only, the report also addresses the subject of organised crime. Respondents are asked how important they consider these issues to be in their country, whether they feel the situation in their country has improved over the last ten years and whether the EU should continue to be involved in monitoring the situation. The survey also asks about the impact the EU has played so far and general awareness of the EU’s Cooperation and Verification Mechanism.

 

A new Eurobarometer survey on EU consumer choices reveals that people in the EU eat fish and seafood quite regularly, although how far people live from the sea has an impact on how often they eat fish. They mainly buy their fish and seafood at the supermarket, and they look first at its appearance, then at its price and origin. Although a majority likes wild marine products better, a large share of Europeans have no set preference between wild and farmed products. Europeans trust the content of labels, especially when the information provided is required by law. Discover the truth on these and other consumer choices, including some unsuspected shopping and eating habits, in the new public opinion survey on EU consumer habits regarding fishery and aquaculture products.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 86 survey (EB86), was carried out between 3 and 16 November 2016 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement, the euro, migration and the euro. The survey also addresses perceptions of the Erasmus programme and of the Treaty of Rome.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 24 September and 3 October 2016 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe" report presents a snapshot of the way Europeans perceived the EU and its future direction in 2016. It begins by considering the EU in today's world: EU’s main assets and challenges, the EU's values and the EU on the world scene. Then it tackles some aspects of political and social life in the EU and issues related to the future of Europe.

 

The review of the "ePrivacy" Directive is one of the key initiatives aimed at reinforcing trust and security in digital services in the EU. As part of this review, the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Communications Network, Content and Technology (DG CONNECT) commissioned this survey to assess the general opinions of citizens across the EU in relation to key issues that are part of online privacy, in particular privacy of communications, tracking over the Internet with cookies requiring permission/consent, unsolicited communications by e-mail or unwanted calls.

 

For this survey carried out on 17- 18 October 2016, some 17 500 respondents across the 19 euro area countries were interviewed by phone. The results show a downward return by five percentage points to the level of overall support for the euro in recent years. A euro area majority of 56% sees the euro as good for their own country. The highest increase in support compared with the 2015 results was noted in Ireland with a raise of six percentage points to 81%, followed by the Netherlands with a raise of four points. On the other hand, strongest decrease was noted in Lithuania by 13 percentage points to now 42%. A euro area majority of 67% sees the euro as good for the EU as a whole, a decrease by four percentage points compared to 2015. There are nevertheless some important differences between the 19 countries. Asked about economic policy coordination in the euro area, an overall majority of 67% thinks there should be more coordination while 10% think there should be less of it. An increase by three percentage points to 62% was noted in overall support for abolishing 1-cent and 2-cent coins combined with mandatory rounding of the final sum of purchases. However, majorities in Latvia (50%) and Portugal (48%) are not in favour of this proposal. Citizens replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from perception and practical aspects of the euro to their assessment of the economic situation, policy and reforms in their country and in the euro area. In addition, citizens were asked about their views and expectations regarding household income and inflation.

 

This survey aims to assess the perceptions of EU citizens about gender-based violence. Among others, it explores the following topics: • Opinions about and attitudes towards gender-based violence; • Perceptions of the prevalence of domestic violence and sexual harassment; • Personal knowledge of a victim of domestic violence, and to whom people speak in the case of knowledge of domestic violence; • Whether a range of acts of gender-based violence are wrong and are, or should be, illegal.

 

Recently the European Commission issued a recommendation to develop new approaches to protect the rights of creditors, but also to assist businesses in financial difficulty. The current initiative follows up this recommendation. It introduces a new legislative proposal on restructuring, businesses' second chance and measures to increase the efficiency of restructuring, insolvency and discharge procedures. As well as conducting public consultations, Directorate General – Justice and Consumers commissioned this survey of businesses to explore issues pertaining to cross border debt.

 

Given the importance of Antimicrobial Resistance at European and global level, this survey seeks to monitor levels of knowledge about antibiotics in 16 countries in various regions outside the EU. Topics covered include: reported consumption in the last year, public knowledge about antibiotics, impact of information received from healthcare providers and media, perceptions of the most appropriate policy response to antibiotic resistance and attitudes towards the use of antibiotics in agriculture and the environment. Previous surveys on the same topic were published in 2010, 2013 and June 2016 (covering the 28 EU Member States).

 

In light of the importance of media plurality and freedom, the Directorate General for Justice and Consumers commissioned the following Eurobarometer survey to explore citizens’ opinions about the diversity of views available in the media, and their perceptions of media independence. The survey was carried out between 24 September and 3 October 2016 in the 28 Member States of the European Union. 27,768 EU citizens from different social and demographic categories were interviewed face-to-face at home and in their native language. The survey covers views about: the variety of opinions presented in the media; the perceptions of the independence of both the general and public service media; the trust in the information provided by the media; the awareness of the national media regulator and opinions about its independence; the participation in debates on social media; online encounters with hate speech and threats and the influence this has on participation.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 85 survey (EB85), was carried out between 21 and 31 May 2016 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation, Europeans' main concerns and the perception of the economic situation. It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably support to investment, the euro, free movement of people, trade and migration issues.

 

The Commission wants to improve how the single market for financial products and services works for consumers, small investors and businesses. This Eurobarometer looks mainly at whether financial services users switch provider and purchase in other Member States, and at what prevents them from doing so. Some of the questions were already asked in the Eurobarometer 373 conducted in 2011.

 

The Eurobarometer survey (EBS 443) on the public perception of illicit tobacco trade was the first of its kind. The results show that EU citizens are concerned about the need to protect the revenues of Member States and the EU from the smuggling of cigarettes. It also reveals EU citizens' clear view that the price is what attracts them to buy black market cigarettes yet the survey also suggests that knowledge about the link between organised crime and the illicit trade of tobacco is low. Finally, it reveals that the penetration of black market cigarettes is somewhat uneven in the EU with generally a higher penetration in Eastern Europe.

 

With more than 14.000 interviews, covering from micro-enterprises to large multinationals, the Innobarometer 2016 is one of the broadest surveys carried out in Europe to hear the voice of EU business. The survey was designed in particular to collect information about the innovation activities of companies, as well as about the progress towards industrial modernization. The results are a strong call for action on the modernisation of the EU industrial base. In fact, Innovation activities in EU businesses show signs of decline and at the same time the use of advanced manufacturing technologies in the EU industry is not making progress. On a more positive key, almost three in four companies plan to invest in innovation in the coming year. As a supporting measure, skills development is considered crucial by EU innovative companies.

 

This Eurobarometer survey was conducted before the entry into force of the new requirements to provide information about beneficiaries state aid awards. Europeans were asked about their awareness of state aid and the perceived ease of finding relevant information, as well as about their attitudes towards transparency of state aid. 27 818 EU citizens were interviewed in June 2016. While the results show different levels of awareness across Member States, in all EU countries, citizens feel not well-informed about state aid and consider it difficult to find information about the beneficiaries of aid. More than eight in ten consider that EU citizens should have full access to information about state aid given by public authorities to companies. Large majorities of Europeans see transparency as a means to make policy-makers accountable to citizens; as a good way to improve the management of public money, and as relevant for companies as for citizens. Europeans consider that the most effective way to improve transparency is to make the information published automatically when state aid is given.

 

As part of the EU strategy to fight antimicrobial resistance, this survey was carried out in April 2016 and tracks progress on public use of and knowledge about antibiotics in the 28 Member States. Topics covered include: reported consumption in the last year, public knowledge about antibiotics, impact of information received from healthcare providers and media, perceptions of the most appropriate policy response to antibiotic resistance and attitudes towards the use of antibiotics in agriculture and the environment. Previous surveys on the same topic were published in 2010 and 2013.

 

A 2016 Eurobarometer survey showed that a majority of respondents had either used or were aware of collaborative platforms. Almost one third of respondents who have used the services of collaborative platforms also provided a service on this kind of platform at least once. This signals that users are also likely to act as service providers. Users appreciated in particular that collaborative economy services are easily accessible and cheaper than traditional services and that products or services can be exchanged, rather than paid for. Three main drawbacks identified by respondents were lack of awareness of who is responsible in case a problem arises, lack of trust in Internet transactions generally and lack of trust in the provider/seller.

 

This Eurobarometer is published during the #EUGreen Week of 2016, Europe's biggest annual occasion to discuss environment policy. The survey shows that 73% of European SMEs have invested in the transition to a more circular model for their businesses over the past three years. More than a quarter (27%) said they had encountered difficulties in accessing financing in this area. Commissioner Vella said: "It is becoming more and more clear that a sound investment strategy means combining economic opportunity with sustainable environmental practice. Green Week sends a powerful signal to European companies, investors and the financial sector that a change of culture is both possible and profitable."

 

The Commission has released the results of a Eurobarometer survey to better understand the attitude of EU households and citizens towards new Internet-based communications services as compared to legacy telecom services, and to measure the related expectations and needs for consumer protection. The survey also measures the means of reception of TV broadcast services, the uptake of service packages and the awareness of 112, the Single European emergency call number. The fieldwork was conducted between 17 and 26 October 2015. It covers the 28 EU Member States, with a total of 27,822 respondents interviewed. It follows on from the previous Eurobarometer survey which was conducted in January 2014.

 

For this survey carried out in April 2016, some 7 000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Croatia, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important. While 52% of respondents think that the introduction of the euro has had positive consequences in the countries that are already using the euro, the proportion of respondents who are in favour of introducing the euro in their country varies widely, from 64% in Romania to 29% in the Czech Republic.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among companies across the EU Member States, particularly: - how companies rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. A total of 6,803 companies were interviewed via telephone (among businesses employing one or more persons) between 25 February and 4 March 2016, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among the general public across the EU Member States, particularly: - how the general public rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. Some 26,555 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone, between 24 and 25 February 2016, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

This Flash Eurobarometer survey on Electoral Rights was conducted in November 2015 amongst 26,557 citizens throughout EU-28 Member States. Europeans were asked to offer their views on a range of questions associated with electoral issues and electoral rights within the EU, including on how to improve voter participation. Europeans believe that a number of practices, such as receiving individual letters and automatic registration on the electoral rolls, would make it easier for Europeans who live in another EU country to vote in European and local elections and thus to fully participate in the political life of the EU. It also shows that Europeans want to be better informed concerning the EU and the European Parliament elections.

 

The Flash Eurobarometer survey on EU Citizenship rights was conducted in October 2015 amongst 26,555 citizens in EU-28 Member States. It investigates how familiar Europeans are with their status as EU citizens and their understanding of the rights conferred by EU citizenship. The results show that Europeans are more familiar than ever with their status as Union citizens. Their understanding of some of the key rights conferred by EU citizenship is improving. However, there is more work to be done to increase citizens' awareness about their rights and of what they can do if these rights are not respected. It also shows the vast majority of Europeans have a positive view of free movement.

 

The study aims at (1) understanding the relationship between Europeans and animal welfare, (2) assessing European awareness and perceived importance of EU activities in this field; (3) Determining European views on availability and recognition of animal welfare friendly products. The study shows that citizens attach a great importance to animal welfare. They want to receive more information on the conditions in which farm animals are treated. EU citizens believe that it is important to establish international welfare standards and the EU should promote greater awareness of animal welfare at global level. They also declare to be ready to pay more for animal welfare friendly products but think that their availability is still limited.

 

The survey looks at the travel patterns of European citizens in the 28 Member States of the European Union, and in Turkey, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro and Moldova. It was designed to explore a range of aspects regarding holidays in 2015 and 2016, in particular: respondents’ reasons for going on holiday in 2015; information sources and tools used to book holidays; respondents’ travel profiles, preferred destinations and holiday types; satisfaction with various aspects of holidays in 2015; plans for holidays in 2016, including the potential impact of the current economic situation on these plans. Where possible, results are compared with the previous waves of the survey and a longitudinal analysis has been carried out for questions which have been asked several times since the initial 2009 edition.

 

Following the successful European Year for Development 2015, the European Commission is publishing a new survey on the perception of EU citizens on the Europe’s role in the world. The analysis also includes topics such as the importance of personal commitment to development aid, and looks at what EU citizens see as the biggest challenges for developing countries. The survey offers a view on how citizens perceive development and cooperation in every EU country, as well as across the EU as a whole. Commissioner Neven Mimica will announce the results on the 29th of February. A media package, including country factsheets in the 23 EU languages, and one focused on young people, will be available. Special Eurobarometer 441 survey was carried out between 28 November and 7 December 2015 in the 28 European Union Member States.

 

The European Commission published today a Flash Eurobarometer on "Possible obstacles to using the euro in international trade" as perceived by companies in France, Germany, Italy and the UK in the aircraft and shipbuilding, energy, financial services, and electrical and mechanical engineering industries. The survey confirms that the euro is widely used by European firms in their invoicing practices with nearly eight out of ten companies invoicing more than 75% of their export in euros. Two thirds of the surveyed firms in France, Germany and Italy said they did not use any other currency for export invoicing than the euro. If companies did use other currencies, this was mostly due to client preference and the important role of the US dollar in global finance. Also, firm's trade invoicing practices appear not to be markedly affected by the European sovereign debt crisis, with around four fifths of the companies saying the crisis had no effect on their use of the euro in trade invoicing.

 

"The survey exclusively focuses on quality of life, showing how satisfied people are with various aspects of urban life, such as employment opportunities, presence of foreigners, public transports and pollution in their cities. It is designed to allow cities to compare themselves on 30 criteria addressing social, economic, cultural and environmental issues. It should inspire stakeholders and decision-makers to follow a holistic approach to sustainable urban development."

 

There is broad support among Europeans for the contribution of the CAP to the European Commission's top priorities, according to a new Eurobarometer survey, with nearly half of the respondents considering the role of the CAP "very important" for stimulating jobs and growth and for supporting the role of the farmer in the food chain. Other responses highlight the importance for the future that the general public puts on agriculture and rural areas (>90%) and confirm the trend from previous surveys which shows increasing concern for agriculture and rural areas as well as improved awareness of the CAP.